Browse Resources (34 total)

Survey description of Oak Hill, dated February 13, 1970, for the Historic American Buildings Survey Inventory.

Survey description of King's Grant, dated July 17, 1974, for the Fairfax County Department of Historic Resources Reconnaissance Level Survey.

Survey description of John Marshall House, dated February 22, 1972, for the Historic American Buildings Survey Inventory

Survey description of Aspen Grove, dated September 1, 1970, for the Historic American Buildings Survey Inventory.

When road construction threatened the Guinea Road Cemetery in 2004, the Virginia Department of Transportation sought information about those buried there. Dennis Howard of Springfield told the history of his family members, the families of slaves…

Michele Sims is principal of Terra Centre Elementary School, a unique energy efficient building, constructed largely underground. She discusses the facility.

Ilryong Moon is an at-large representative on the Fairfax County School Board; previously he represented Braddock District on the Board. Mr. Moon is the only Korean-American elected to public office in this area. He talks about the experience of the…

Rita Rogers moved with her husband and young sons into the Lake Braddock subdivision in 1971. She remembers the early years of the community.

Joanne Mellender Hollis first moved to Fairfax as a child in 1932. She remembers activities of her childhood and life during World War II, when German prisoners-of-war were assigned to work on her family farm.

Elizabeth Dove remembers Braddock Road in the 1930s, describing the neighborhood, home ownership, and daily life.